Five outstanding former student-athletes at Midwestern were recognized
during halftime ceremonies of the Homecoming football game against Angelo
State. Four were inducted into the MSU Athletic Hall of Honor, joined by the
recipient of the Outstanding Letterman’s Award.
Laverne Robbins
Laverne Robbins earned Associated Press Little All-
America second-team honors in his lone season at
Midwestern State in 1952. The offensive tackle helped the
Indians to a 6-5 mark then was selected in the 22nd round
of the 1953 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers with
the 262nd overall pick. He was the third football player in
Midwestern State history to earn AP Little All-America
honors following Willie Bigham in 1949 and Jess Stiles in
Robbins was inducted posthumously into the Hall
of Honor and represented by his teammate and good
friend Newman Young in the ceremony.
Sheila Farrar-Beeson
Sheila Farrar-Beeson played a key role in building Midwestern
State’s volleyball tradition after committing to the first-year
varsity program in the spring of 1985. The 6-0 outside hitter from
North Richland Hills served as a key building block under coach
Dave Simeone for her first two seasons then with Dave Hawk as
a junior and senior. Farrar-Beeson grew into a two-time NAIA
All-District 8 performer during her junior and senior seasons
while helping the Lady Indians to a 33-12 mark and to their first
district title in 1988. She graduated as MSU’s all-time leader in
kills (898), kills per set (3.82), and remains the program’s most
efficient attacker, posting a .357 career attack percentage.