Two mass comm students win scholarships


Megan Piehler and Blake Muse

April 17, 2015 — Two Midwestern State University students in Mass Communication, Blake Muse and Megan Piehler, are recipients of $2,000 scholarships from the Advertising Education Foundation of Houston and the American Advertising Federation — Houston.

"Our judges were very impressed with this year's scholarship applicants and their accomplishments," said Jay Hagins, chairman of the AEFH.

Megan Piehler, a junior in Mass Communication who received the Gallery Furniture Scholarship, said, "I am grateful for the recognition of my achievements and goals. I appreciate a foundation in Houston awarding a scholarship to me even though I go to school here in Wichita Falls. It's great that AEFH considers all students who apply, rather than only awarding students closer to home."

Blake Muse, a junior in Mass Communication who received the KTRK Television Scholarship, said, "I'm incredibly honored. To be completely honest, I'm just so excited to be able to be recognized by this organization. It's really rewarding to see yourself going in the right direction in regard to your calling."

The scholarships are part of 25 scholarships totaling $50,000 to college students from 17 different colleges and universities throughout the AAF 10th District that covers Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Louisiana.

Both Muse and Piehler will accept their scholarships at a luncheon honoring student winners, family members, and professors April 17 at the Junior League of Houston.

Muse said, "At the end of the day, my future employers aren't going to be looking at how much money I got in college. They will want to see my accomplishments, my talent, and my ambition. They want to see how much we've learned and how serious we are about what we do. That's who scholarships are awarded to."

Selection was based on completing the online application, letters of reference, community engagement, financial need, extracurricular activities, work experience, and school transcripts.

Hagins continued, "We are very pleased to be honoring both undergraduate and graduate students. Many of the students have indicated their desire to return to the Houston area after graduation, which is important in supporting regional growth of the communication industry."

Piehler said she was happy to receive the $2,000 but, like Muse, is happy for the recognition of her work, for the Mass Communication department, and for the university.

"Scholarships like the AEFH provide recognition and connections," she said.