It appears that your browser does not support JavaScript. We use JavaScript on our website to display some information. Please use a browser that supports JavaScript.

The Unit

The professional education Unit at Midwestern State University is the Gordon T. and Ellen West College of Education. The West College of Education (WCoE) partners with other colleges who share in the preparation of teacher candidates by providing a sound foundation in the liberal arts and the specialized knowledge and skills necessary for their success as practicing teachers. These include the Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences, The College of Science and Mathematics, The Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts, The College of Health and Human Services, and the Dillard College of Business Administration. The Teacher Education Committee coordinates and supervises all teacher preparation curricula, including student teaching. The Teacher Education Committee consists of the deans of all the colleges listed above, the certification officer, and the chairs of the Departments of Education and Reading, English, Spanish, Music, Art, Theatre, Science, History, and Mathematics. In addition, community and public school representatives serve on the Teacher Education Committee. The Teacher Education Committee is chaired by and reports to the Dean of the College of Education.