What is i.d.e.a.MSU?

i.d.e.a.MSU is a competition designed to provide Midwestern State University students with a business idea the opportunity to hone their idea, get valuable advice, and WIN SOME MONEY.  The contest operates in two steps.  During the first step teams' submit their four-page (maximum) business plan.  From those plans the judges pick six finalists, who then make an oral presentation to the judges on May 9th.  The judges pick the winners based on those presentations.



2013-2014 (academic year) undergraduate and graduate students from all colleges on campus are invited to submit business proposals and compete for prizes.  And the prizes are AWESOME:

1st Place -- $2,000


2nd Place -- $1,000


3rd Place -- $500


Contact:  Dr. Jeff Stambaugh, Director of Muniur Abdul Lalani Center for Entrepreneurship and Free Enterprise by (940) 397-4634 or jeff.stambaugh@mwsu.edu.


Written business plan uploaded

Tuesday, April 29th @ 5pm

Finalists notification of selection

Monday, May 5th

Oral presentation PowerPoint due to Dr. Stambaugh by email

Friday, May 9th @ 12pm

Finalists' oral presentations to the judges

Friday, May 9th @ 4pm

 To see the full set of contest rules and to upload your entries, click on this link: 



SUMMARY: So, what would be a great business venture? Solve a problem involving a lot of “pain” (meaning people would pay a lot for your product) and/or a problem that affects a lot of people (meaning lots of people would buy your product). Solve the problem in a way that is superior to any existing solutions (your superiority may simply be that you product could be produced much cheaper than existing products). Finally, solve the problem in a way that would be hard for any current or potential competitors to copy.


i.d.e.a.MSU Judges

Pete D'Acosta, Wichita Falls Growth Fund
Jeff Franklin, Wells Fargo
Frances Hamre, Former i.d.e.a.MSU Winner
Shea Lalani, Lalani Lodging
Mary Beth Leach, Chick-fil-A


 For more information, please speak with Dr. Jeff Stambaugh, 940-397-4634, jeff.stambaugh@mwsu.edu.



Jeff Franklin of Wells Fargo presents the 2013 First Place i.d.e.a.MSU prize to Cody Young, Management Major.

ideaMSU Winner